top of page
  • Foto del escritorJossie

From the pandemic, an opportunity

Actualizado: 1 may 2020

When I first learned about the summer internship program of the MPA/ID it was like a dream, being able to spend my summer in a faraway place, working on something meaningful in the field. When I got the internship with IMAGO to support the Self-Employed Women’s Association in India, the dream felt more alive than ever. One can imagine my disappointment when few weeks later travel bans started to appear and it was announced that, with good reason, all summer internships would be done remotely. My first thought was that I would not be able to accomplish my so long-awaited foreign experience. The second thought was, actually now even more than before I could do something meaningful with my internship. Now, I would make myself useful to people that actually were fighting day to day to overcome a never expected crisis.

I will be working on three main things. First, an assessment on the overall needs of the Women Social Enterprises that are part to SEWA. Second, identifying the challenges they are facing due to the current crisis and associated lockdown and how to develop virtual training and support them to use this period as an opportunity to improve. Third, research on the global response to support informal sector workers.

Excitement to work on this project has fulfilled my expectations and in certain aspects gone beyond them. This is the time in which I will learn from people in the field, even if through phone calls, in which we will work together to match their needs, in which I will devote myself to think deeply and openly on how to sustain their development.

This, amid all the uncertainty and suffering that this pandemic has generated, will be an opportunity to really ask what we can do and do it.

62 visualizaciones7 comentarios
bottom of page